Article Image
Courtesy: B-CU Athletics
View larger

Brian Jenkins Named Eddie Robinson Award Finalist

Courtesy:           Release: 11/19/2012

Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

PHILADELPHIA - Bethune-Cookman University head football coach Brian Jenkins has been named a finalist for this year's Eddie Robinson Award. The award is presented annually to the national coach of the year in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) by The Sports Network.

All 13 FCS conferences have at least one coach on the list.

A panel of about 160 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the Robinson Award winner.

Voting will reflect only the regular season and conclude before the FCS playoffs begin Saturday. The winner will be announced on Dec. 17 at the FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation in Philadelphia.

"Obviously, this is an extreme honor to be named a finalist for an award of this magnitude," expressed Brian Jenkins on Monday afternoon. "This award not only shows the hard work of a head coach, his staff and players throughout the year, but also the hard work and dedication of a man for whom the award is named.

"Not only was Eddie Robinson an inspiration to me, but he paved the way for African-American coaches like myself and many more to reach new heights in the college football coaching ranks. Again, it's such an honor to be named a finalist for this award."

Under the guide of Jenkins, now in his third year at the helm of the B-CU program, the Wildcats captured the 2012 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) championship, finishing the year 8-0 in league play and 9-2 overall. The Wildcats earned the league's automatic bid to the FCS playoffs and will host Big South champion Coastal Carolina on Saturday, Nov. 24 at 2 p.m.

The other finalists for the 2012 Eddie Robinson Award include the following: Dino Babers (Eastern Illinois); Beau Baldwin (Eastern Washington); Dick Biddle (Colgate); Craig Bohl (North Dakota State); Monte Coleman (Arkansas-Pine Bluff); Clint Conque (Central Arkansas); Walt Hameline (Wagner); Kevin Higgins (The Citadel); Joe Moglia (Coastal Carolina); Joe Moorhead (Fordham); Karl Morgan (Mississippi Valley State); Chuck Priore (Stony Brook); Danny Rocco (Richmond); Jason Simpson (UT Martin); Brock Spack (Illinois State); Bob Surace (Princeton) Andy Talley (Villanova); Jeff Voris (Butler); Tim Walsh (Cal Poly).

For all the latest information on the Bethune-Cookman Wildcats, follow the official Twitter feed, @BCUathletics, or "Like Us" on Facebook at Bethune-Cookman Athletics.

Member Login
Allstate Ad
Courtyard Marriott
Hampton 70x63
Homewood Suites Hilton
Studio 78 73x60
Residence Inn Marriott
Kimble Electric Ad Belt
Doghouse Bail Bonds
Papa Johns 70x63
CORA Health
Ritchey Cadillac 70 x 63
Ritas Ice 70 x 63
Jimmy Johns
Al's Sign
WW Gay
Holiday Inn Resort 70x63