Article Image
Courtesy: B-CU Athletics
View larger

Staci Hilliard Named to All-MEAC Bowling Team

Courtesy:           Release: 03/22/2013

Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

NORFOLK, Va. – Bethune-Cookman University bowler Staci Hilliard has been named to the All-MEAC First Team announced Friday morning by the MEAC Office in Norfolk, Va. For Hilliard, this is her second time in as many years being present on the All-MEAC Team.

Hilliard, a senior from Port Huron, Mich., anchored the Wildcats squad all season as a team captain under head coach Tony O’Neal. The Port Huron High School alum finished the year with the highest average on the Wildcats squad, and was a driving force behind B-CU being ranked in the National Tenpin Coaches Association Top 20 poll all season.

Currently, B-CU ranks No. 20 in the latest poll released earlier this month.

Throughout the campaign, Hilliard was named to six all-tournament teams, including picking up Most Outstanding Performer accolades at the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Southern Divisional on Nov. 11, 2012. In fact, she finished ranked as one of the top six individualists in all three southern divisional events on the campaign. Hilliard was also named to the 2012-13 Preseason All-MEAC Team to begin the year.

Joining Hilliard on the All-MEAC First-Team were T’nia Falbo and Anggie Ramirez of Maryland Eastern Shore, Thea Aspiras (Norfolk State) and Atoya Leatherbury (Morgan State).

Maryland Eastern Shore's Anggie Ramirez was named the MEAC Player of the Year, while North Carolina A&T rookie Emily Strombeck was voted the Rookie of the Year. Norfolk State head coach Wilhelmenia Harrison earned Coach of the Year accolades. All awards were voted on by the conference's head bowling coaches and sports information directors.

The 2013 MEAC Bowling Championship begins Friday, March 22 at the AMF Lanes in Chesapeake, Virginia at 8:30 a.m. Teams will compete in traditional games to determine seeding for day two action.

Play continues on Saturday with teams competing in a best-of-seven Baker series. The championship concludes on Sunday, March 24 beginning with the semifinal round at 9:50 a.m. and concluding with the championship final at 11:45 a.m.

The championship finale will air tape-delayed on ESPNU on April 1 at 10:30 p.m.

For more information on the 2013 MEAC Bowling Championships, please log on to

For all the latest information on the Bethune-Cookman Wildcats, follow the official Twitter feed, @BCUathletics, or “Like Us” on Facebook at Bethune-Cookman Athletics.

2012-13 MEAC Bowling All-Conference Honors

Player of the Year: Anggie Ramirez, Maryland Eastern Shore
Rookie of the Year: Emily Strombeck, North Carolina A&T
Coach of the Year: Wilhelmenia Harrison, Norfolk State

All-MEAC First Team

Anggie Ramirez Senior Maryland E. Shore Bogotá, Colombia
T’nia Falbo Senior Maryland E. Shore Greensburg, Pa.
Thea Aspiras Junior Norfolk State Chesapeake, Va.
Staci Hilliard Senior Bethune-Cookman Port Huron, Mich.
Atoya Leatherbury Junior Morgan State Wilmington, Del.

All-MEAC Second Team

Megan Buja Junior Maryland E. Shore Rockford, Ill.
Laverne Jones Senior North Carolina Central Goldsboro, N.C.
Nicole Bower Senior Delaware State Camp Hill, Pa.
Mariana Alvarado Sophomore Maryland E. Shore Leon, Guanajuanto
Emily Strombeck Freshman North Carolina A&T Durham, N.C.
Member Login
Allstate Ad
Courtyard Marriott
Hampton 70x63
Homewood Suites Hilton
Studio 78 73x60
Residence Inn Marriott
Kimble Electric Ad Belt
Doghouse Bail Bonds
Papa Johns 70x63
CORA Health
Ritchey Cadillac 70 x 63
Ritas Ice 70 x 63
Jimmy Johns
Al's Sign
WW Gay
Holiday Inn Resort 70x63