Article Image
Courtesy: B-CU Athletics
View larger

Waters Named to 2013 CFPA FCS Quarterback Award Watch List

Courtesy:           Release: 05/15/2013

Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Bethune-Cookman quarterback Brodrick Waters has been named to the 2013 College Football Performance Awards Quarterback Watch List. The preliminary watch list highlights thirty-two returning performers, vying for the top quarterback honor in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Waters, a rising senior from Sarasota, Fla., arrived to B-CU prior to the 2012 season after transferring in from Louisiana Tech. He spent one year (2011) with the Ragin Cajuns after arriving from Independence Community College, where he played the 2009 and 2010 campaigns for the Pirates.

"Congratulations to Brodrick Waters on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," stated CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Waters is a dangerous playmaker, particularly on the ground. With continued improvement in the passing game, he has the potential to become the second Bethune-Cookman player to earn CFPA honors, following 2011 CFPA National Defensive Performer of the Year and current Jacksonville Jaguar Ryan Davis."

In 2012, Waters saw action in 10 games, including one start against Tennessee State. On the year, he registered a team second-best 314 yards on 32-of-68 passing with four touchdowns. In the rushing category, Waters added a team third-best 574 yards, finishing second on the squad with five touchdowns. Against Alabama State in the MEAC/SWAC Challenge, he connected with Eddie Poole on his season-long 47 yard touchdown strike, extending the Wildcats lead at 31-21 in the third quarter. Another highlight moment included a season-long 56-yard run against Coastal Carolina in the opening round of the FCS Playoffs.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Past CFPA recipients include: Colin Kaepernick, Trent Richardson, Dez Bryant, Von Miller, Patrick Peterson, Earl Thomas, Blair Walsh, Dennis Pitta, and C.J. Spiller.

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website ( Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.

For the latest information on Bethune-Cookman Football, follow @BCUathletics on Twitter. Join the conversation for all things related to B-CU Football in 2013 by using the official hashtag #NeverSatisfied in all tweets.

Member Login
Allstate Ad
Courtyard Marriott
Hampton 70x63
Homewood Suites Hilton
Studio 78 73x60
Residence Inn Marriott
Kimble Electric Ad Belt
Doghouse Bail Bonds
Papa Johns 70x63
CORA Health
Ritchey Cadillac 70 x 63
Ritas Ice 70 x 63
Jimmy Johns
Al's Sign
WW Gay
Holiday Inn Resort 70x63